Welcome Humans… To My Blog!

Standard

My name is Maren Hancock and I’ve been writing about popular music, gender, race, class, and more stuff like that, since the mid-1990s. Yet, it’s somehow taken me until 2015 to start a blog. Perhaps that’s because I’m also a DJ, recording artist, and academic, or perhaps it’s due to my mad procrastination problems, who knows?

The main impetus to create a blog came from my current situation. I’m writing a dissertation on female DJs in Canada, and along the way I’ve interviewed and surveyed over 150 female DJs in Canada to date. I’ve been so inspired and enamoured with these discussions that I wanted to have a forum to share some of my previous research on female DJs, as well as my forthcoming findings.

Comments are shares are welcome, and thank you for visiting!

Leave a Reply

